The House System

The Newman House System is unique among independent schools, rooted in long-standing British tradition. Designed to generate a sense of belonging and spirit throughout a diverse student body, the House System gives students of wide-ranging interests and backgrounds a sense of tradition and membership in the collective Newman student body, past and present.

Historically the House System referred to a  House of a Boarding School. In the case of The Newman School, it refers to a group of students rather than to a particular building.

Throughout the year, students in these Houses become a close knit community, jointly competing against other houses in academic, artistic and athletic competitions.  Since Newman draws students from around the world and every walk of life, Houses offer students lessons in tolerance, cooperation, and leadership.

How Houses Work

Every student at Newman is placed into one of four "houses":  Clarendon House, Dartmouth House, Exeter House and Fairfield House, each with its own distinct character, shaped by the personalities of its membership and its leaders. Each house has close involvement with its faculty House Master, and bears its own colors, slogan and symbol.

These are tight communities,  evolving each year with the new students aligned with the group.  Allegiance runs deep, to the House and ultimately the school at large, as a source for life-long identification.

Leadership is rewarded through Prefect positions.  Houses are led by three Prefects – two Seniors and one Junior) – who lead by example and enforce school rules in compliance with the school Honor Code.  One Head Prefect is elected to become the student body leader.

Class of students on field day